TITLE XXI
MOTOR VEHICLES

CHAPTER 265
RULES OF THE ROAD

Speed Limitations

Section 265:60

    265:60 Basic Rule and Maximum Limits. –
I. No person shall drive a vehicle on a way at a speed greater than is reasonable and prudent under the conditions and having regard to the actual and potential hazards then existing. In every event speed shall be so controlled as may be necessary to avoid colliding with any person, vehicle, or other conveyance on or entering the way in compliance with legal requirements and the duty of all persons to use due care.
II. Where no hazard exists that requires lower speed for compliance with RSA 265:60, I, the speed of any vehicle not in excess of the limit specified in this section or established as hereinafter authorized shall be prima facie lawful, but any speed in excess of the limit specified in this section or established as hereinafter authorized shall be prima facie evidence that the speed is not reasonable or prudent and that it is unlawful:
(a) In a posted school zone, at a speed of 10 miles per hour below the usual posted limit from 45 minutes prior to each school opening until each school opening and from each school closing until 45 minutes after each school closing.
(b) 30 miles per hour in any business or urban residence district as defined in RSA 259:118;
(c) 35 miles per hour in any rural residence district as defined in RSA 259:93, and on any class V highway outside the compact part of any city or town as defined in RSA 229:5, IV;
(d) 55 miles per hour in other locations, except as provided in (e);
(e) 65 miles an hour on the interstate system, the central New Hampshire turnpike and the eastern New Hampshire turnpike in locations where said highways are 4-lane divided highways or other divided highways of 4 or more lanes, except that the speed limit on the portion of I-93 from mile marker 45 to the Vermont border shall be 70 miles per hour.
(f) On a portion of a highway where officers or employees of the agency having jurisdiction of the same, or any contractor of the agency or their employees, are at work on the roadway or so close thereto as to be endangered by passing traffic, at a speed of at least 10 miles per hour below the usual posted limit. The speed shall be displayed on signs as required by RSA 265:6-a.
(g) For a vehicle equipped with a transponder, 25 miles per hour through a toll booth or gate that is equipped with a transponder reader for automated toll collection except for an open road tolling lane and except that at toll booths staffed by toll collectors drivers whose vehicles are not equipped for automated tolling shall come to a full stop at the toll booth so that the attendant may collect the toll.
(h) In the toll collection area of an open road tolling lane, at a speed greater than is reasonable and prudent for the conditions and actual and potential hazards existing at the time or greater than a per se maximum speed of 65 miles per hour, whichever is less.
III. The limits specified in subparagraphs II(e) and II(g) shall be the maximum lawful speed and no person shall drive a vehicle on said ways at a speed in excess of such maximum limit. The prima facie speed limits set forth in this section may be altered as authorized in RSA 265:62.
IV. The driver of every vehicle shall, consistent with requirements of paragraph I, drive at an appropriate reduced speed when approaching and crossing an intersection or railway grade crossing, when approaching and going around a curve, when approaching a hillcrest, when traveling upon any narrow or winding roadway, and when special hazard exists with respect to pedestrians or other traffic by reason of weather or highway conditions.
V. The fines for violation of subparagraphs II(a)-(d) shall be as follows:
Miles per hour above the limit specified:
1-10 $50
 11-15 75
 16-20 100
 21-25 200
 26+ $350
 

The fines listed in this paragraph shall be plus penalty assessment.
VI. The fines for violations of subparagraph II(e) shall be as follows:
Miles above the 65 mph limit:
1-5 $65
 6-10 100
 11-15 150
 16-20 250
 21+ 350
 

Miles above the 70 mph limit:
1-5 $65
 6-10 100
 11-15 200
 16-20 300
 21+ 400
 

The fines listed in this paragraph shall be plus penalty assessment.

Source. 1905, 86:8. 1909, 154:4. 1911, 133:13. 1921, 119:13. PL 103:17. 1927, 76:2. 1937, 125:1. RL 119:29. 1949, 286:1. RSA 263:53. 1963, 330:1. RSA 262-A:54. 1965, 335:1. 1979, 358:4. 1981, 146:1. 1987, 217:1. 1988, 245:11. 1989, 164:1. 1997, 11:1. 1999, 73:1. 2005, 177:42. 2010, 51:2, 3. 2013, 192:1, eff. Jan. 1, 2014. 2015, 202:8, eff. Jan. 1, 2016. 2018, 160:1, eff. Aug. 3, 2018.