Section 4-F:1

    4-F:1 Geographic Information System (GIS) Committee Established. –
I. There is established a New Hampshire geographic information system (GIS) committee.
II. The members of the committee shall be as follows:
(a) The commissioner or agency head of each of the following state agencies, or designee:
(1) Adjutant general.
(2) Department of agriculture, markets and food.
(3) Department of corrections.
(4) Department of natural and cultural resources.
(5) Department of education.
(6) Office of planning and development.
(7) Department of environmental services.
(8) Fish and game department.
(9) Department of health and human services.
(10) Department of information technology.
(11) [Repealed.]
(12) Department of revenue administration.
(13) Department of safety.
(14) Department of transportation.
(b) The director of the university of New Hampshire's geographically referenced analysis and information transfer (GRANIT) system, or designee.
(c) A municipal GIS manager, appointed by the New Hampshire Municipal Association.
(d) A representative from the New Hampshire Association of Regional Planning Commissions.
(e) [Repealed.]
III. All entities represented on the committee shall share access to geospatial data and resources with the exception of information that is nonpublic, is statutorily restricted, or is part of a criminal investigation. Shared information shall be used exclusively for the benefit of the state, the state's political subdivisions, and other relevant parties. No entity represented on the committee shall use data or resources obtained from another entity represented on the committee for pecuniary gain.
IV. The committee shall review the use, development, and coordination of geospatial data and resources by state agencies and municipal governments and shall consider the need for central coordination, storage, and distribution of such data and resources, and suggest an appropriate response. The committee shall also consider GIS activities at public and semi-public agencies and identify avenues where legislation may further efficiencies through enhanced cooperation.
V. The first meeting of the committee shall be called by the commissioner of the department of information technology, or designee, and shall be held within 45 days of the effective date of this section. The members of the committee shall elect a chairperson from among the members at the first meeting and every 2 years thereafter. Nine members of the committee shall constitute a quorum.
VI. The committee shall report annually, beginning November 1, 2016, to the speaker of the house of representatives, the president of the senate, and the governor, on or before November 1. The reports shall describe the activities and findings of the committee and any recommendations for proposed legislation.

Source. 2016, 73:2, eff. May 19, 2016; 162:3, eff. May 19, 2016 at 12:01 a.m. 2017, 156:37, LVII, 38, 64, eff. July 1, 2017. 2021, 91:198, eff. July 1, 2021.