Section 160-C:13

    160-C:13 Permissible Fireworks Advisory Committee. –
I. There is hereby established a permissible fireworks advisory committee. The composition of this committee shall be as follows: one senator, appointed by the senate president; one representative, appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives; the state fire marshal, or designee; the director of the division of state police, or designee; and 3 public members, 2 of whom shall be engaged in the retail sale of consumer fireworks in New Hampshire and one of whom shall be a regular purchaser of consumer fireworks, appointed by the governor. No vote of the committee shall take place unless 3 members of the committee are present. The term of office of each member appointed by the governor shall be 2 years and until a successor is appointed and qualified. The other members of the committee shall serve terms coterminous with their terms in office. Vacancies shall be filled in the same manner for the unexpired terms. Members shall serve without compensation, except that the legislative members shall receive mileage at the legislative rate. The committee shall elect a chairperson annually.
II. The committee shall meet at least once per calendar year, prior to October 1, and within 30 days of any emergency removal from retail sale of permissible fireworks pursuant to RSA 160-C:16. The purpose of the meeting following the emergency removal of permissible fireworks shall be to review the basis for the commissioner's decision and to make a recommendation to the commissioner as to whether the items are properly classified pursuant to 27 C.F.R. section 555.11.
III. The committee shall review the rules and standards of the Consumer Product Safety Commission regarding consumer fireworks so as to provide information and advice to the commissioner on the application and enforcement of the state's fireworks laws.
IV. On or before December 1, 2011, and each December 1 thereafter the committee shall make a report of the committee's activities and any recommendations for legislation to the commissioner, the speaker of the house of representatives, the senate president, the house clerk, the senate clerk, and the state library.

Source. 1999, 348:14. 2003, 6:1. 2004, 247:4. 2011, 160:4, eff. June 14, 2011.