REGISTRATION OF CRIMINAL OFFENDERS
651-B:4 Duty to Report.
I. Any sexual offender or offender against children residing in this state shall report in person to the local law enforcement agency. The offender shall report in person as set forth in this section within 5 business days after the person's release, or within 5 business days after the person's date of establishment of residence, employment, or schooling in New Hampshire. If an offender has more than one residence, the offender shall report in person to the local law enforcement agency having jurisdiction over his or her primary residence and report the addresses of all his or her residences, including those outside of New Hampshire. The division shall notify the local law enforcement agencies having jurisdiction over the offender's other residences of the offender's address in their jurisdiction. Thereafter, the offender shall report as follows:
(a) Every tier III offender shall report in person quarterly, within 5 business days after each anniversary of the offender's date of birth and every 3 months thereafter.
(b) Every tier I and tier II offender shall report in person semi-annually, within 5 business days after each anniversary of the offender's date of birth and every 6 months thereafter.
II. Any nonresident offender shall report in person to the local law enforcement agency having jurisdiction over the place of employment or school. In the event a nonresident offender required to register under this paragraph does not have a principal place of employment in this state, the offender shall register in person with the department in Concord.
III. Each time a sexual offender or offender against children is required to report, the offender shall provide the following information:
(a) Name and any aliases.
(b) Address of any permanent residence and address of any current temporary residence, within the state or out-of-state, and mailing address. A post office box shall not be provided in lieu of a physical residential address. If the offender cannot provide a definite address, he or she shall provide information about all places where he or she habitually lives.
(c) Name, address, and date of any employment or schooling. For purposes of this section, the term "employment" includes volunteer work or work without remuneration. If the offender does not have a fixed place of work, he or she shall provide information about all places he or she generally works, and any regular routes of travel.
(d) Any professional licenses or certifications that authorize the offender to engage in an occupation or carry out a trade or business.
(e) Make, model, color, and license plate or registration number and state of registration of any vehicle, watercraft, or aircraft owned or regularly operated by the offender, and the place or places where such vehicles, watercraft, or aircraft are regularly kept.
(f) Date of birth, including any alias date of birth used by the offender.
(g) Social security number.
(h) Physical description to include identifying marks such as scars and tattoos.
(i) Telephone numbers for both fixed location and cell phones.
(j) Passport, travel, and immigration documents.
(k) The name, address, and phone number of any landlord, if the offender resides in rental property.
IV. In addition to the information required pursuant to paragraph III, the department, at the time of the offender's registration, may require the offender to submit the following:
(a) A photograph taken by the law enforcement agency each time the person is required to report to the law enforcement agency under this section.
(b) A DNA sample, if such sample has not already been provided.
(c) A set of major case prints, including fingerprints and palm prints of the offender.
(d) A photocopy of a valid driver's license or identification card issued to the offender. The consent of the registrant shall not be necessary to obtain this information. Such information may be used in the performance of any valid law enforcement function.
V. At periodic intervals, not less frequently than once each month, the commissioner of the department of corrections, the superintendent of each county department of corrections, and the commissioner of the department of health and human services shall forward to the division a statement identifying every sexual offender and offender against children who is confined in a facility under its control and who is eligible for any unsupervised work detail, release into the community following secure psychiatric care, or other assignment which may bring the offender into contact with members of the public. These statements shall include the information required in paragraph III and may include the information set forth in paragraph IV. In no event shall the statements include the identity of any victim.
VI. In addition to the requirements imposed under this section, the following provisions shall apply to any sexual offender or offender against children who is sentenced to an extended term of imprisonment pursuant to RSA 651:6, I(b):
(a) Every 90 days after the date of the offender's initial release or commencement of parole, the department shall mail a nonforwardable verification form to the offender's last reported address.
(b) The offender shall mail the verification form to the department within 10 days after receipt of the form.
(c) The verification form shall be signed by the offender, and state that the offender still resides at the address last reported to the local law enforcement agency.
Source. 1996, 293:1. 2000, 177:1. 2001, 233:1. 2002, 241:32. 2003, 316:1. 2005, 214:5. 2006, 327:7. 2008, 334:4. 2009, 306:5. 2010, 78:7, eff. Jan. 1, 2011.