PAROLE OF PRISONERS
651-A:3 Adult Parole Board; Establishment; Procedures.
I. There shall be an adult parole board with 5 members, 2 of which shall be attorneys with active licenses. The members of the board shall be appointed by the governor with the consent of the council for staggered terms of 5 years or until their successors are appointed. No member shall serve more than 2 consecutive terms. A vacancy on the board shall be filled for the unexpired term.
II. The composition of the board shall be as follows:
(a) One member as chairman.
(b) Four additional members, to include:
(1) One member with law enforcement or corrections experience, either current or former.
(2) One member with criminal justice experience, which may be direct employment experience, current or former, in some capacity within the criminal justice system, or post-secondary school teaching, scholarship, and research pertaining to the criminal justice system.
(3) One at-large member who is either an attorney with an active New Hampshire license or a mental health professional with an active New Hampshire license;
(4) One at-large member without any categorical designation.
III. The governor shall designate one member as chairman. The salary of the chairman shall be that established in RSA 94:1-a as grade GG, with appropriate step to be determined in accordance the provisions of RSA 94:1-d. The chairman shall designate one other member to serve as temporary designee chairman in his or her absence, however, the designated chairman shall not receive the chairman's salary or employee status while serving in the chairman's absence. In the case of a revocation hearing an attorney of the board shall be present at the hearing. Board members shall be paid an annual stipend of $20,000 for each member, to be paid in equal installments on each state employee pay period date. Board members shall be paid mileage at the state employee rate while engaged in parole hearings or administrative meetings.
IV. The board shall hold at least 36 days of parole hearings and 36 days of parole revocation hearings each year and may hold more hearings as necessary. Each parole and parole revocation hearing shall be held by a hearing panel consisting of exactly 3 members of the board. The board shall establish operating procedures which provide for rotation of board members among hearing panels.
V. In the event of a pandemic or other extraordinary occurrence declared an emergency by the governor that results in restricted movement or quarantining of inmates at any New Hampshire state prison facility, the parole board may conduct all hearings via teleconference or other video conference technology.
Source. 1983, 461:16. 1994, 305:2. 1995, 257:3. 2015, 194:1, eff. July 1, 2015. 2021, 91:126, eff. July 1, 2021.