Section 38-D:3

    38-D:3 Membership. – The commission shall consist of no fewer than 3 nor more than 10 members. In cities, the members of the commission shall be appointed by the city council subject to the provisions of the city charter, and in towns the members of the commission shall be appointed by the board of selectmen. Alternate members may be appointed in a like manner and when the alternate serves in the absence or disqualification of a regular member, the alternate shall have full voting powers. When a commission is first established, terms of the members shall be for one, 2, or 3 years, and so arranged that the terms of approximately 1/3 of the members will expire each year, and their successors shall be appointed for terms of 3 years each. Any member of a commission so appointed may, after a public hearing with notice under RSA 675:7, if requested, be removed for cause by the appointing authority. A vacancy occurring other than by expiration of a term shall be filled for the unexpired term in the same manner as an original appointment. Members of an energy commission shall be residents of the city or town which they represent. Members of an energy commission also may serve on other municipal boards and commissions, including but not limited to, a conservation commission under RSA 36-A, local planning boards under RSA 672, a historic district commission established under RSA 673:4, and a heritage commission established under RSA 673:4-a.

Source. 2009, 275:1, eff. Sept. 27, 2009.